Freeform64

Flattening surfaces

What do you guys think about a steam roller type of vehicle that could be used to flatten the terrain?

One of my major issues with Astroneer mechanically has been diging up recourses close to my base and having to spend way too much time trying to flatten the space, there has got to be a more enjoyable way to do so. 

Thanks for your ear, keep up the good work.

7 minutes ago, Freeform64 said:

What do you guys think about a steam roller type of vehicle that could be used to flatten the terrain?

One of my major issues with Astroneer mechanically has been diging up recourses close to my base and having to spend way too much time trying to flatten the space, there has got to be a more enjoyable way to do so. 

Thanks for your ear, keep up the good work.

I would not say a whole new vehicle... Maybe an attachment for the truck? :D 

1 hour ago, IndieCrypt said:

Maybe an attachment for the truck? :D 

I could see a steam roller attachment that works similar to the crane, giving you a seat while taking up 4 attachment nodes. Give it control to drive, but only one seat (despite being as big as a 3-seat). But I do worry then that it means a rover could get the attachment, and I don't feel it SHOULD, so part of me says that it should either not give a seat (to dissuade rovers since you can't drive it) or it should take up more than 4 nodes (say, all 8 nodes of a truck).

But I also worry that if it functions like the flatten tool, driving with it would be a terrible idea as you could easily ruin what you're flattening by hitting an odd surface and flattening the ground into a slope, essentially un-flattening the land you're driving on. So really, I think it should have some way to turn itself on and off, and should force your speed to a crawl when activated (much like how steamrollers actually do drive slow to ensure the road is properly flattened). If it's some always-active attachment, I really doubt it could be anything but trouble.