solidshark91493

My ideas (Im sure there will be many)

Hi Everyone. Talked to a couple of the devs and It was suggested that I post this here so more can see it and it doesnt get lost in discord. Seemed to have a decent reaction there (Lots of kermits? lol) So here's my first idea.
I'm a 3D artist and I wanted to play around with ideas for this game as practice. Hard to pick up the correct scale but I made the dummy roughly 2m tall which is what I was told a astroneer is. *Roughly* Haha. I'll probably make more of these, and I didnt bother modeling out the connectors and panels too much because Im sure the devs kitbash the things together to save time. 

First Idea: Tunneling machine
Make perfect tunnels to walk (or slide) down into the planet and possibly make it easier to see using other vehicles (Its a bit difficult when the roof is in the ceiling of your tunnel amiright?)
Feel free to add feedback and suggestions and I can try to work on this and anything else as time goes by :)

Drill.png

Drill-2.png

The current use of tunneling vehicles work, for the most part, fine.  I think they still need to tweak vehicles + towed on declines as it still gets squirrelly to control.  I don't think you can get a 'perfect' tunnel using polygons and once I make a tunnel with the large drill/paver, it's pretty good for anything else.  The overhead can get in the way at times, but it's not a game breaker.

So the real question is, why would i want to use this idea versus what is already in the game?

If you want to sell it, sell the entire idea that you have.   Just for the sake of a perfect tunnel isn't enough, in my opinion, to divert dev resources to since there are a boat load of issues that still need to be resolved and should take priority.

2 hours ago, nunya said: