CptSpaceToaster

Please consider speedruns when removing bugs and exploits

But first, come context:
1. I'm a software developer, and totally understand that bugs and exploits are problematic, and often need to be fixed.
2. I'm the current world record holder for the Solo Any% category coming in at 3hr 08m and one half of the duo holding Coop Any% at 2hr 14m

With the latest patch, the devs unintentionally stomped over the Coop Any% route. What looked like a sub 2 hour run optimally will now likely bloat to 2hr 30m or so.  While a number of changes were made, the largest was the removal of Magic School Bus. Magic School Bus was such a time save as it allowed player 2 to clip to the core without having to mine, while also saving a significant portion of time when landing on a new planet, as player 2 would use the increased horizontal movement speed to reach the gateway at breakneck speeds, drop off a platform, and go pick up player one. I can't complain a whole lot, as the glitch is rather game breaking, however I'm not certain the devs currently consider the current speedrun techniques when targeting certain bug fixes.

Removing bugs and exploits such as Magic School Bus, or Fast Mining potentially leave more room in the designed Astroneer experience for all players to set an accomplishable goal, and for players to be rewarded for their effort with new research/technology/game features. But that comes at the cost of the few speedrunners you have abandoning the game for something more stable/worth practicing.

Presumably, Magic School Bus was removed to one: stop the game from being broken and two: leave in room for an item or game feature to allow for similar "free flying movement" such as a jetpack.

1. Jetpacks seem like a wonderful addition for the experience of someone playing more casually.