Sign in to follow this  
Icy

Vehicles having worst physics

Hi, i bought a game on steam week ago i was happy to see that there are vehicles so i started learning the game... I wanted to dig the paths and drive that thing around made bridges up the roads cut in hills... But with this controls its just weird after i tried using vehicles it acts like a hover craft. So i wonder is that intentional or just work in progress?

Cheers, IA.

The vehicle physics and mechanics are most likely going to be improved upon in the future. They're very similar to those of the Halo series, just press w and it will drive where your camera is pointed. The Rover and Truck are both somewhat top-heavy and need some pretty wide bridges to ensure that you don't fall off. I will certainly agree that they're somewhat "floaty" like a hovercraft, but ask yourself if the controls really detract from the overall experience. <3

This whole game is currently in very early stages, they will almost certainly expand or improve on everything they currently have in the game.

I agree I think vehicle physics are terrible and annoying among other bugs they have like disappearing, floating away, or falling through the ground.  If this was a final game I would be extremely disappointed.  This an alpha version of the game, so I def think that is something that will be changed to more traditional vehicle controls and behavior.

I had a great experience where I drove at full-speed down a mountain and off a ramp I had built, the flips and velocity that rover picked up along the way was astounding. Personally I love these physics, they're a lot of fun, but they could really use some polishing (as does everything in an alpha). For example when you slide down something and are stuck in slide-mode until you jump. 

The control of vehicles is so different than other games. But it is only a matter of time to get used to it.