I R SRS Games Designer. Here R SRS suggestions!!!

Ok, I don't want to be all "I'm a games designer, don't you know" but yeah I've been working in the industry for a while and Astroneer has really exercised my brain (instead of the usual mobile-match-three stuff that comes across my desk :) ).

Here are some thoughts that I hope help you guys/gals. Sorry that they are in dry GD terms rather than "make me a cooool spaceship pew pew pew" but that's probably more helpful to you in the long run.

1. Agency.

Agency (for those that don't know) is the feeling that your player has a say in their own outcome. That their actions had impact. Chess has a lot of agency, slot machines have none. Astroneer has quite a bit but one area suffers in this regard and that's Research. Its a lottery and it can really mess with a game if it doesn't go the way of the player at least occasionally. As your list of stuff grows, the variance (the possibility of odd outcomes) grows and the random selection mechanic will become worse and worse with less and less agency. A better system might be to assign a random number of research points for each research pod and the let the players spend them as they see fit. You get to control the "price" of research and there is still some random variance but the player gets a sense that they are developing a strategy and will have to pick between ooooh, that generator or aaaah that space shuttle.... this adds more agency and depth to the game.